Boo-Boo Salve

I have a little boy.

Little boys get hurt.

A lot.

All the freaking time.  Because it seemed like a good idea at the time.

That means bandages and neosporin abound.  Even when he isn’t actually injured in any way.  He just thinks he needs a bandage.  That’s my kid.

Neosporin is great stuff.  Until you remember that it’s a bunch of chemicals suspended in petroleum.  A leftover from the processing of gasoline.  You are putting chemical laced gasoline leftovers on your child’s open wounds.  Yuck.

Now, I’m not telling you not to use Neosporin, since it’s a magical cure all and it does, in fact, work pretty darn good on the various cuts and scrapes and boo-boos.

I just don’t want to use it.

So, I headed to the interwebs, because, where else would I go?

I found lots and lots of lovely salves, with lots and lots of ingredients I just don’t have on hand and wouldn’t use for anything else.

What’s a girl to do?

Have a look at what she DOES have.

I have plenty of carrier oils.

I have beeswax, because everyone should have that.  Great stuff.

I have essential oils.

And I have garden fresh (Ok, dried and crushed, but still from a garden) rosemary.

Rosemary is great stuff.  And you know what you can do with herbs and oil?  You can infuse oil.  You can do it to add flavor to oil.  You can do it to add the fragrance and herbal goodness for use in body products.  It’s easy.  Seriously.  (I used almond oil, because I don’t particularly like olive oil, but that’s just me.)

Essentially a salve is just a carrier oil and beeswax to thicken it.  Beeswax increases the melting point of what it’s added to.  It makes things solid at room temperature.  It is used in lotion bars, lip balms, and salves to make them more solid.

Now, a salve would be pretty damn useless if it was actually solid (though you could actually make a portable version like a lotion bar).  I wanted mine to be more like the consistency of Neosporin.  Easy to apply and leaves a light coating to protect the wound.  I also wanted it to be full of skin loving ingredients.

I took equal parts coconut oil, shea butter, and infused almond oil and combined it with a bit of cocoa butter and beeswax.  Melted them all together, added lavender for its analgesic properties and tea tree for it’s mega healing abilities.  I also added a touch of honey for it’s antibacterial goodness.  It set up into a nice semi-solid consistency and the cocoa butter works as a nice barrier.

Recipe

2oz rosemary infused almond oil

2oz shea butter

2oz coconut oil

1oz cocoa butter

1oz beeswax

Melt it all together (I use a small pyrex measuring cup that is just for making lotion bars and salves and lip balms, because all the oils and waxes are hard to clean up and you really want a pour spout.  With a good pyrex one, you can just put the measuring cup in a pot of water to melt everything safely and pour with ease.) and add your essential oils.  Pour into jars (this recipe makes almost a pint.  I used 4 4oz jelly jars.)  Squirt in a bit of honey, if you want, and mix now and again while it sets up.  Mixing is particularly important if you used honey, since the honey sinks to the bottom.  Wooden skewers are good for mixing.  This will stay good for about a year.

Now for the good recipes links, because yeah…

Wellness Mama – Homemade Healing Salve

Mrs. Happy Homemaker – Healing ‘Boo-Boo’ Salve (PS you can order the dried herbs from her premeasured for her recipe.  Couldn’t be easier.)

Crunchy Betty – Not Your Mother’s Neosporin (Great pictures of the process.  And she’s hilarious.)

 

 

One thought on “Boo-Boo Salve

  1. Pingback: Little Red Head Boy | Horrible Neglect

Leave a Reply

